Skip to main content
Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs
News article14 March 2023Directorate-General for Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs3 min read

EEPA 2023 some national deadlines announced

EEPA 2023 logo white background

The 2023 European Enterprise Promotion Awards (EEPA) have started to launch across the participating countries and, while many countries have yet to announce their national deadlines, we are able to bring you news on the national deadlines for the first countries to announce them.

EEPA recognises the most successful promoters of enterprise and entrepreneurship around Europe, showcases the best entrepreneurship policies and practices, raises awareness of the added value of entrepreneurship and encourages and inspires potential entrepreneurs.

Some of the EEPA national competitions are already underway and are looking for the best projects to compete at national level. The countries that have already announced their deadlines:

Country‘s deadline

Austria - 28 April

Belgium - 15 May

Bulgaria - 30 June

Croatia- 30 June

Cyprus - 21 June

Denmark - 21 June

Estonia - 17 April

Finland - 3 June

Germany - 5 May

Greece - 30 June

Hungary - 31 May

Ireland - 9 June

Latvia - 22 June

Lithuania -31 May

Luxembourg - 30 June

Malta - 12 May

Poland - 26 June

Portugal - 2 May

Romania - 9 June

Slovakia - 11 June

Slovenia - 22 May

Spain - 9 June

If you are in one of the countries mentioned above and are planning to participate in EEPA 2023, make sure to get your application in before the deadline expires. If your country is not on the list, check regularly Promoting Enterprise portal where new information and deadlines will be published soon. We will publish a second post at a later date with information on the national deadlines for the remaining participating countries. So check the Promoting Enterprise portal regularly!

If you are considering participating in EEPA 2023, you can check your national EEPA factsheet with all the information you need.

For any further questions, be sure to contact your National Coordinator or the EEPA Secretariat.

More about EEPA

EEPA participating countries have started to invite projects and initiatives to apply for the 2023 national competitions where two national winners per category will be selected to compete at the European level. The EEPA 2023 jury will carefully review these national winners and narrow down to a European shortlist.

The participating countries are inviting projects or initiatives to apply for the national competitions in six categories:

  1. Promoting the entrepreneurial spirit – this category recognises initiatives at national, regional or local level that promote an entrepreneurial mind-set, especially among young people and women.
  2. Investing in entrepreneurial skills – recognises initiatives at national, regional or local level to improve entrepreneurial, managerial and employee skills.
  3. Supporting the digital transition – this category recognises initiatives that support the digital transition of enterprises, enabling them to develop, market and use various digital technologies, products and services.
  4. Improving the business environment and supporting the internationalisation of business –recognises innovative policies and initiatives at national, regional or local level that make Europe the most attractive place to start, operate, grow and scale it up a business. It also recognises initiatives that simplify legislative and administrative procedures for businesses and implement the “Think Small First” principle in favour of small and medium-sized enterprises.
  5. Supporting the sustainable transition - recognises policies and initiatives at national, regional or local level that support the sustainable transition and environmental aspects such as the circular economy, climate neutrality, clean energy, resource efficiency or biodiversity through, for example, sustainable skills development, matchmaking and funding.
  6. Responsible and inclusive entrepreneurship – this category recognises national, regional or local initiatives by authorities, public/private partnerships or small and medium sized enterprises that promote corporate social responsibility among SMEs. This category will also recognise efforts to promote entrepreneurship among disadvantaged groups such as the unemployed, especially long term unemployed, legal migrants, disabled people or people from ethnic minorities.

All shortlisted nominees from both the national and European competition levels will receive invitations to the Awards Ceremony at the annual SME Assembly in Bilbao on 15-16 November, this year co-hosted by the Spanish Presidency of the Council and the European Commission. At the SME Assembly, the jury will also announce the winner of the Jury’s Grand Prize. The winner can be selected from any category and the prize goes to the entry considered to be the most creative and inspiring entrepreneurship initiative in Europe.

For more information about the European Enterprise Promotion Awards, visit the European Commission website and for the latest updates make sure to visit the Promoting Enterprise portal to follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram.

Promoting Enterprise - categories
  • European Enterprise Promotion Awards
Promoting Enterprise - tags
  • EEPA