Skip to main content
Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs

Mutual Recognition Agreements

European companies that wish to export to Australia, Canada, Japan, New Zealand, the USA, Israel or Switzerland need to know about Mutual Recognition Agreements (MRAs) and the designated Conformity Assessment Bodies (CABs).

Mutual Recognition Agreements

Mutual Recognition Agreements (MRAs) promote trade in goods between the European Union and third countries and facilitate market access. They are bilateral agreements, and aim to benefit industry by providing easier access to conformity assessment.

Conformity Assessment Bodies

Mutual recognition agreements lay down the conditions under which one Party (non-member country) will accept conformity assessment results (e.g. testing or certification) performed by the other's Party (the EU) designated conformity assessment bodies (CABs) to show compliance with the first Party's (non-member country) requirements and vice versa.

MRAs include relevant lists of designated laboratories, inspection bodies and conformity assessment bodies in both the EU and the third country. Links to existing lists are provided on this website.

List of mutual recognition agreements

Guidance documents and references of regulations